Main menu

Ik ben verslaafd aan boeken. Hieronder kan je mijn volledige lijst vinden van gelezen fictie-boeken die in mijn boekenkast. Van sommige boeken kan je zelfs een korte bespreking vinden.
Abarat: Days of Magic, Nights of War

Abarat: Days of Magic, Nights of War


Clive Barker

Eerste Uitgave





Joanna Cotler Books






494 bladzijden






Abarat - Book 2.

Candy Quackenbush's adventures in the amazing world of the Abarat are getting more strange by the hour. Christopher Carrion, the Lord of Midnight, has sent his henchman to capture her. "Why?" she wonders. What would Carrion want with a girl from Minnesota? And why is Candy beginning to feel that the world of Abarat is familiar to her? Why can she speak words of magic she doesn't even remember learning?

There is a mystery here. And Carrion, along with his fiendish grandmother, Mater Motley, suspects that whatever Candy is, she could spoil their plans to take control of the Abarat.
Now Candy's companions must race against time to save her from the clutches of Carrion, and she must solve the mystery of her past before the forces of Night and Day clash and Absolute Midnight descends upon the islands.

A final war is about to begin. And Candy is going to need to make some choices that will change her life forever...


The amazing story gets up to speed

Picking up right where the first book left off, Candy Quackenbush continues her travels throughout the wonderfully strange world of Abarat, in search of an explanation of why she arrived there in the first place. Christopher Carrion, the Lord of Midnight, is far from happy with the failing attempts of his henchmen Criss-Cross Man in trying to capture Candy, but decides to give him one final chance. Carrion is convinced that the little girl knows some secret that will destroy his ultimate dream of creating eternal night on the Abarat archipelago. Candy will need the help of Malingo, the geshrat she rescued from the clutches of the evil Wizard Kaspar Wolfswinkel, to fight against the Lord of Midnight's evil freaks.

Abarat: Days of Magic, Nights of War is the long awaited second volume of the Abarat Quintet (originally it was planned to become a quartet, but Clive felt that the story needed some more depth and will add an extra volume). Based upon the speed that Clive Barker has been releasing these books, it will probably take Clive till fall of 2009 to deliver the final volume. And that is really a pity, because the story now really gets up to speed. Compared to the first book, which missed quite some action because it had to introduce the world of Abarat, this episode is a thrilling rollercoaster ride. Quite some colorful characters of the first book do make their reappearance, like the fascinating Wolfswinkel and the three witches Diamanda, Mespa and Jeophi. But this time all the pieces start falling into place. Candy will discover aspects of herself that she would have never have guessed she possessed. Even Chickentown, Minnesota will undergo some remarkable transformations.

Abarat is clearly going to turn out to become the Magnus Opus of Clive's career and although it is officially categorized as a children's book this should stop no-one from entering the amazing world of Abarat.